Reviewing My NL Predictions

In the National League I picked the Reds, Nationals and Diamondbacks to finish atop their divisions.  I also picked the Braves and Pirates to join them in the playoffs as the Wild Card teams. 

NL Central

In the NL Central my predictions were the Reds finishing first, with the Pirates, Cardinals, Brewers then Cubs rounding it out.  I also had the Pirates finishing in the second Wild Card spot.  The Central currently have three of the four best teams in the league right now with the Cardinals, Pirates and Reds.  They are also the three top teams in ERA and WHIP in the MLB.  Jason Grilli has been a dominating force for the Pirates in the closer role and he leads the league in Saves with 22.  It is still early in the season and I think the Reds are still in a great position to have the best record in the National League.

St. Louis Cardinals – 35 – 18

Pittsburgh Pirates – 34 – 20

Cincinnati Reds – 33 – 21

Chicago Cubs – 22 – 30

Milwaukee Brewers – 19 – 33

NL East

The Atlanta Braves are leading the East Division by 5.5 games, the biggest lead by any of the Division leaders.  The Nationals are only at .500 so far in this short MLB season so far but I definitely expect them to keep getting better and better.  I picked the Nationals to win the division with the Braves getting a Wild Card spot and then the Phillies, Marlins and Mets finishing in that order.  The Marlins have the worst record in the MLB and I think that they will finish that way even though I did not pick them that way.  They are dead last in many hitting categories in the National League, which is understandable because many people say that they have a Triple A lineup. 

Atlanta Braves – 31 – 21

Washington Nationals – 27 – 27

Philadelphia Phillies – 26 – 28

New York Mets – 22 – 29

Miami Marlins – 13 – 41

NL West

 

I didn’t think the Dodgers were going to make the playoffs this year even with their huge payroll, but I did not think that they would ever be 8 games below .500.  I thought that this would be one of the best divisions in baseball and would end up beating each other up, which is pretty much what is happening.  The Diamondbacks are leading the division and the Dodgers are in last but they are only 7 games apart.  The Dodgers do still have a lot of time to turn it around and get to the top of the division.  I picked the Diamondbacks to win the division with the Dodgers, Giants, Rockies and then Padres finishing last. 

Arizona Diamondbacks – 30 – 24

San Francisco Giants – 29 – 25

Colorado Rockies – 28 – 26

San Diego Padres – 24 – 29

Los Angeles Dodgers – 22 – 30

 

The current playoff picture looks like this:

1. St. Louis Cardinals

2. Atlanta Braves

3. Arizona Diamondbacks

WC – Pittsburgh Pirates

WC – Cincinnati Reds

 

Currently I only have one playoff team incorrect so far in this early season.  I still feel confident about my picks, especially confident with the way that the Pirates and Reds are playing.  The Diamondbacks are going to have a tough road with the teams that are in that division and with the Giants who know how to win. 

 

Thank you for reading my blog, please feel free to comment your ideas on the page.  This is my opinion and I would love to hear yours, you can’t learn anything if you only listen to yourself.  Also please click the follow link on the bottom right and put your email in.  Thank you.

Tags: , ,

About brown4bd

I am currently enrolled at Central Michigan University. I am obtaining my Bachelor of Applied Arts degree in Sports Studies (Sports Management), with a Minor in Marketing and an Endorsement in Athletic Coaching. I am looking for an Internship over the summer so I can develop my career and improve my business skills to become a well educated and skilled member of the business community.

One response to “Reviewing My NL Predictions”

  1. Alex Brown says :

    I miss your blog, it’s BEN like almost 3 years since you wrote something though. Weak a f.

Leave a Reply

